‘Me’-time

It’s hard to think that only 10 weeks ago I was overseas traveling around Taiwan and Japan (which I also neglected to report on in this blog, sorry). The situation sinks to new lows everyday, and for the first time I’ve thought about travel as a privilege.

One silver lining to every crisis is that you’re reminded of all the great things in your day-to-day life that you usually take for granted.

With social distancing measures now in effect from here on into the forseeable future, I figure I’ll be having a lot more ‘me’-time. The plan is to go on more walks, read all the books that keep getting added to my list and start working on all the personal projects I’ve been putting off.

The other day I was talking with my friend (on the phone, because social distancing, hah) who I had previously traveled with some years ago, and she said she planned to use the time to collate some photo books of our trip. Because the trip was about 5 years ago, she was going to utilise this very blog as a reference to help her map out, timeline and remember everything that happened.

Anyway, this made me think that at one stage, I really did keep quite meticulous records in my journals. Given the circumstances, I thought it might be interesting to start making some notes on the novel experience of being very alone for the next good while (though I have to say, those years in Tasmania have already given me a lot of practice). People who have read my travel writing often say that it’s very descriptive and bare. I have a feeling this will probably be more abstract and conceptual in comparison.

To keep my travels and my non-travels separate, those posts will appear on my Medium account, starting with this one here.

Safe non-travels! Look after yourself and wash your hands!

Leave a comment